Meet Willie Nelson’s Youngest Sons, Lukas & Micah

willie nelson sons

photo: Willie Nelson Facebook

Willie Nelson's youngest sons, Lukas Autry and Jacob Micah, continue to branch out and explore their own talents. Learn more here!

Country music icon Willie Nelson and his wife, Annie D’Angelo, have raised two talented sons. Through thick and thin they have been together while touring the world.  This rambling lifestyle created a unique childhood for their sons, Lukas Autry and Jacob Micah. Each son has developed their own musical style and individual talents.  Annie D’Angelo is the mother of  sons, Lukas Autrey (born December 25, 1988) and Jacob Micah (May 24, 1990). Both are also musicians.  Learn more about each son below.

 Meet Lukas Autry Nelson

Lukas Nelson, was born on December 25, 1988 in Austin, Texas and raised in Maui, Hawaii. He began his professional music career in the early 2000’s, but has been touring with his dad all his life. He wrote his first song at age 11, and at 13 he begin playing rhythm guitar with his father’s band. It’s during these early years he and his brother Jacob learned the art of stage performance. Later, while attending Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, Lukas met Anthony LoGerfo. In 2008 they formed the band, Promise of the Real (POTR) and began touring with Willie as his opening act.

#FarmAidFriday Willie and Lukas circa Farm Aid '92! cc: @lukasnelsonpotr @farmaid

A post shared by Willie Nelson (@willienelsonofficial) on

In 2009, Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real released Brando’s Paradise Sessions EP album, featuring his brother, Jacob’s artwork. He describes the group’s music as “cowboy hippie surfer rock”. To date, the band has released six albums. In additon, Lukas  joined Willie on his 2012 album, Heroes. In 2015, Lukas, Jacob, and Promise of the Real joined Neil Young on his album, The Monsanto Years. They also toured with Young after the albums release. Then, in 2016, the band toured again promoting their own album, Something Real.  In August 2017, they released the self-titled album Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real. Lukas describes performing as a rush. He recently shared with Austin Man Magazine, “When the energy is flowing back and forth and everybody’s jumping up and down and dancin’… It’s like riding a big wave.”

Meet Jacob Micah Nelson

Jacob Micah was born on May 24, 1990, like his brother spent his childhood on the road touring with his father. He’s always been surrounded by music and has performed at many events such as FarmAid, Coachella, and Neil Young’s Bridge School Benefit. He also performs with his father as well as brother Lucas. Know as Micah, Willie’s youngest son is an artist and a musician. His music has been described as abstract, unconventional, and futuristic. He performs as ‘Particle Kid’ and also performs with his band known as Insects Vs. Robots. His style is nontraditional and “heavily influenced by movie soundtracks”. He incorporates his visual art with his music using animation, paintings, and film. Linking his audio and visual talents seems natural to him. In the interview with Austin Man Magazine, he states, “They’re symbolically linked together, and I’m always trying to explore different ways to explore those links, just trying to find links between all of our senses, the way we’re receiving and putting out information.” Visit Micah’s website to experience his art for yourself.

Happy Holidays from the Nelson Ohana ✌🏼

A post shared by Willie Nelson (@willienelsonofficial) on

In October, Lukas,Micah, and Willie dropped the collaborative album Willie Nelson and the Boys. The 12-song album features mostly of covers of country standards made popular by other top country acts. The track “Healing Hands of Time” is the only Willie Nelson original cut for the record.

Willie Nelson and the Boys (Willie’s Stash, Vol. 2) Track Listing 

1. Move It On Over (Williams)
2. Mind Your Own Business (Williams)
3. Healing Hands Of Time (Nelson)
4. Can I Sleep In Your Arms (Cochran)
5. Send Me The Pillow You Dream On (Locklin)
6. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry (Williams)
7. I’m Movin’ On (Snow)
8. Your Cheatin’ Heart (Williams)
9. My Tears Fall (Miller)
10. Cold, Cold Heart (Williams)
11. Mansion On The Hill (Williams and Rose)
12. Why Don’t You Love Me (Williams)

Lukas Autry and Jacob Micah are forging their own way, just like their father has done over the years. Their nontraditional childhood has shaped them into the artists they are today.

Related article:  Willie Nelson and Wife Annie D’Angelo Ring in 25th Wedding Anniversary

Check out their websites to learn more about the Nelson brothers, and be sure to share this with other fans of the Nelson family.

View Comments (0)

Around The Web