The Doobie Brothers to Receive ASCAP’s Voice of Music Award!

Doobie Brothers

photo: Sony Music Nashville

The Doobie Brothers are getting a new award to add to their collection, ASCAP’s Voice of Music Award.

The Doobie Brothers have been touring and making music for forty years, they have defined generations, and wowed audiences around the world. The group started playing in 1970 and are still going strong today. With an already incredible list of accolades, The Doobie Brothers are about to add ASCAP’s Voice of Music Award to the list.

The Voice of Music Award honors artists whose music gives voice to the spirit of a generation. They will be joining a prestigous list of other Voice of Music Award recipients including Ashford & Simpson, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Billy Joel, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Tom Petty, Smokey Robinson, Carly Simon, Patti Smith, Steely Dan, Rod Stewart, James Taylor, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry (Aerosmith), Tom Waits, Ann & Nancy Wilson (Heart), Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

The Doobie Brothers will be receiving the award at the 32nd annual Pop Music Awards in Los Angeles on April 29th. The Pop Music Awards are presented by ASCAP as a precursor to the 10th annual “I Make Music” Expo that draws creators to explore the latest in music production and composition.

Other award recipients for the night include Kiss who will receive ASCAP’s Founders Award, and St. Vincent who is picking up ASCAP’s Vanguard Award. To attend the Pop Music awards or the “IMake Music” Expo, check ASCAP’s website HERE!

For more news on The Doobie Brothers click HERE!


View Comments (0)