Luke Bryan Shares “What Makes You Country” in Latest Tune [Audio]

luke bryan what makes you country

photo: Luke Bryan Facebook

Country music singer-songwriter Luke Bryan's new tune "What Makes You Country" does away with unnecessary comparisons. Enjoy the official audio here!

Country music superstar Luke Bryan gives his take on a common argument— what really makes a person truly ‘country’— in his song “What Makes You Country.” The tune serves as the title-track for his forthcoming his sixth studio album, which will drop on Friday, December 8th with pre-orders available now here.

“It’s like, for some reason everybody wants to put you in a category of how country you are,” shared Bryan while inviting fans to share their own stories at “My thing is, my explanation of that is, we’re all different levels of country, but that doesn’t mean you should be judged for it or whatever. It’s me pontificating and me saying, ‘Let’s don’t pick people apart about [whether] they’re city or country.'”

Enjoy the official audio for “What Makes You Country” below!

The What Makes You Country album touts 15 songs, seven of them co-written by Luke himself, including the title track. The album’s lead single “Light It Up,” written by Luke and Old Dominion member Brad Tursi, is the follow up to his 18th career No. 1 single and sixth No. 1 from his Kill The Lights album.

“My favorite part of making a new album is getting to collaborate with the songwriting community in this town” said Luke in a recent statement. “It is important to me to continue to push myself to grow on all levels and I feel like we did that on this project. Making and performing music never gets old and I can honestly say I am having the time of my life. I will be forever grateful to every fan who sings along each night.”

Listen to new tracks before the album #WhatMakesYouCountry comes out 12/8. Follow the playlist now on @spotify and never miss new music. [Link in bio]

A post shared by Luke Bryan Official (@lukebryan) on

What Makes You Country Track Listing

1. What Makes You Country – Luke Bryan, Dallas Davidson, Ashley Gorley

2. Out Of Nowhere – Luke Bryan, Dallas Davidson, Ashley Gorley

3. Light It Up – Luke Bryan, Brad Tursi

4. Most People Are Good – David Frasier, Ed Hill, Josh Kear

5. Sunrise, Sunburn, Sunset – Zach Crowell, Ryan Hurd, Chase McGill

6. Bad Lovers – Justin Wilson, Dallas Davidson, Kyle Fishman

7. Drinking Again – David Lee Murphy, Brad Warren, Brett Warren

8. Land Of A Million Songs – Luke Bryan, Jeff Stevens, Jody Stevens

9. Like You Say You Do – Luke Bryan, Michael Carter, Ashley Gorley

10. Hooked On It – Luke Bryan, Dallas Davidson, David Lee Murphy

11. She’s A Hot One – Michael Carter, Chase McGill

12. Hungover In A Hotel Room – Rodney Clawson, Chris Tompkins, Josh Kear

13. Pick It Up – Luke Bryan, Rodney Clawson, Matthew Dragstrem

14. Driving This Thing – Rhett Akins, Ben Hayslip, Jody Stevens

15. Win Life – Rodney Clawson, Ross Copperman, Nicolle Galyon

Fans can catch Luke on his Huntin’, Fishin’ And Lovin’ Every Day Tour, which wraps up November 4th in Mountain View, California.

View Comments (0)