Watch Joe Nichols Perform “Baby Got Back” for Sir Mix-a-Lot [Video]

joe nicols baby got back

photo: YouTube

Country artist Joe Nichols' version of Sir Mix-a-Lot's "Baby Got Back" is a fun departure from the expected. Enjoy it here!

Country music standout Joe Nichols‘ new album Never Gets Old is out now and contains a true gem— a cover of Sir Mix-a-Lot’s 1992 smash hit “Baby Got Back.” Fans of Nichols’ live show will instantly recognize his throwback country interpretation of the infectious tune, featuring comedian Darren Knight. Nichols has been performing this classic-twist in concert thanks to fan demand, and this is its first time on a recorded project.

Watch Joe perform his country version of “Baby Got Back” for Sir Mix-a-Lot himself below!

Amazing, isn’t it?!

This year, Nichols brings the nationwide NEVER GETS OLD Tour to festivals and legendary clubs such as Cotton Eyed Joe in Knoxville, Tenn. (Aug. 5) and Billy Bob’s Texas in Fort Worth, Texas (Aug. 26). For a full list of upcoming tour dates, visit here.


8/3 – Little Valley, NY – Cattaraugus County Fairgrounds*
8/4 – Hamilton, OH – Big Buls Roadhouse*
8/5 – Knoxville, TN – Cotton Eyed Joe*
8/12 – Little Current, ON, Canada– Manitoulin Country Fest*
8/19 – Calgary, AB, Canada – Country Thunder Calgary
8/26 – Fort Worth, TX – Billy Bob’s Texas*
9/9 – Pomona, CA – Los Angeles County Fairgrounds
9/14 – Columbus, OH – The Bluestone*
9/16 – Dubuque, IA – Diamond Jo Casino’s Mississippi Moon Bar*
10/1 – Atlantic City, NJ – Garden State Country Music & Food Truck Festival at Bader Field
11/18 – Harrington, DE – Harrington Casino Exhibit Hall*

* Denotes headlining date

Aside from Nichols putting his own spin on a Hip Hop classic, the rest of his album draws from country tradition in its truest form. The record reflects a timeless sound and features songwriter heavyweights Chris Stapleton, Zach Crowell, and Shane Minor. Standout tracks include the soaring tribute to the human experience of “We All Carry Something” to the traditional steel-laden sing along “I’d Sing About You” while “Diamonds Make Babies” adds a dose of light-hearted mischief.

Never Gets Old Track Listing

1. “Diamonds Make Babies” (Chris Stapleton, Jim Beavers, Lee Miller)

2. “Girl In The Song” (Lynn Hutton, Neal Coty)

3. “We All Carry Something” (Westin Davis, Justin Weaver)

4. “I’d Sing About You” (Chris Janson, Preston Brust, Chris Lucas)

5. “Breathless” (Zach Crowell, Matt Jenkins, Jon Nite)

6. “Tall Boys” (Monty Criswell, Shane Minor, Tom Shapiro)

7. “Hostage” (Brett Tyler, Aaron Eshuis, Ryan Lafferty)

8. “Never Gets Old” (Steve Moakler, Connie Harrington)

9. “Billy Graham’s Bible” (Chris Dubois, Jimmy Melton, Neal Coty)

10. “So You’re Saying” (Ross Copperman, Chris Tompkins, Josh Kear)

11. “This Side of the River” (Clint Daniels, Justin Lantz, Jeremy Crady)

12. “Baby Got Back” feat. Darren Knight aka “Southern Momma” (Anthony Ray)

Be sure to share Joe’s inventive remix with other fans!

View Comments (0)