Dierks Bentley Drops ‘The Mountain’ Album Details

dierks bentley the mountain album

photo: Dierks Bentley Facebook

Country music star Dierks Bentley has revealed the track list and collaborations for his ninth studio album, 'The Mountain.' More here!

Country music artist Dierks Bentley has finally revealed the release date for his ninth studio album, The Mountain! On June 8th, the 13-track album featuring his current single, “Woman, Amen”, will become available. He also shared the track list and collaborations for the album— including award-winning country music duo Brothers Osborne!

Bentley got inspiration for the project back in June 2017 when he performed at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival. The festival was held in the small town of Telluride, which located among the San Juan Mountains in Colorado.

“I found myself there, constantly reaching for my guitar,” Bentley said, according to Nash Country Daily. “It was like a gravitational pull. That town and those people just make you want to be creative, I couldn’t describe it. I was like, ‘How do I tell everyone in Nashville this is what I want to write about?'”

So he decided to base his ninth studio album, The Mountain, off of the place he fell in love with. It’s a whole new way of life in that part of the United States, and he wanted to share that with all of his fans.

“I realized I couldn’t bring it back, so I had to take everyone out there,” he said about his experience in the mountains.

Now Available: Pre-Order + Listen to #TheMountain (link in bio)

A post shared by Dierks Bentley (@dierksbentley) on

Bentley actually went back to Telluride after the festival wrapped to write most of the tracks for the album. He co-wrote 10 of the 13 songs alongside fellow songwriters Natalie Hemby, Luke Dick, Ross Copperman, Jon Randall, Jon Nite and Ashley Gorley, who also joined him for the week-long trip.

He went back again with his production team to record the album in November 2017. They had a secretive place called Studio in the Clouds where Bentley could hone in on the environment he was singing about.

“For me, it’s the best of both worlds, and it feels like something new,” Bentley said. “It’s powerful but also happy, with acoustic sensibility mixed in with the big sounds I like to have for the road. They are the songs I’d play for somebody to say, ‘This is who I am right now.'”

Also on the new album are two collaborations with other country music artists. Brothers Osborne joins Bentley for the leading track, “Burning Man,” and “Travellin’ Light” features Brandi Carlile.

The album is now available for pre-order.

#TheMountain Available June 8th

A post shared by Dierks Bentley (@dierksbentley) on

The Mountain Track List

“Burning Man” (ft. Brothers Osborne)

“The Mountain”


“Woman, Amen”

“You Can’t Bring Me Down”

“Nothing On But The Stars”

“Goodbye In Telluride”

“My Religion”

“One Way”

“Son Of The Sun”

“Stranger To Myself”

“Travelin’ Light” (ft. Brandi Carlile)

“How I’m Going Out”

Share this update with other Dierks Bentley fans! 

View Comments (0)