American Country Countdown Awards 2016 Winner’s List & Recap

martina mcbride, cam, jennifer nettles

photo: Facebook

Check out who claimed awards in each of the 12 categories below!

Last night’s American Country Countdown Awards started out with Cam, Martina McBride, and Jennifer Nettles belting out McBride’s 2003 smash hit “This One’s for the Girls”— the perfect girl power anthem to open the night.

Luke Bryan performed his latest single “Huntin’ Fishin’ and Lovin’ Every Day” and was honored with the night’s top award for Artist of the Year while Chris Stapleton yet again received recognition for Album of the Year. Popular duo, Brooks & Dunn accepted the Nash Icon award and performed their hit “Red Dirt Road” for the eager audience. Check out the complete winner’s list below!

2016 American Country Countdown Awards Winners

Artist of the Year: Luke Bryan

Male Vocalist of the Year: Luke Bryan

Female Vocalist of the Year: Carrie Underwood

Group/Duo of the Year: Florida Georgia Line

Song of the Year: “Die a Happy Man” by Thomas Rhett

Breakthrough Male of the Year: Sam Hunt

Breakthrough Female of the Year: Kelsea Ballerini

Album of the Year: Traveller by Chris Stapleton

Nash Icon Award: Brooks & Dunn

Digital Song of the Year: “Girl Crush” by Little Big Town

Digital Album of the Year: Montevallo by Sam Hunt

Touring Artist if the Year: Garth Brooks

The highlight of the night was definitely Toby Keith’s tribute performance to the late Merle Haggard. Keith sang a montage of Haggard hits such as, “Mama Tried,” “I Think I’ll Just Stay Here and Drink” and “Fightin’ Side of Me” with Haggard’s band the Strangers, which included Haggard’s youngest son Ben.

Speaking of touching tributes, Carrie Underwood also dedicated her 2016 ACCAs win for Female Vocalist of the Year to a 10-year-old fan Isley Thibodeaux who was killed by a drunk driver last week on her way home from Underwood’s concert in Louisiana.

Another great night for country music.

Remember to “share” this with other Country Music fans.

View Comments (0)