2017 CMT Artists of the Year Named: Jason Aldean, Keith Urban, & More

cmt artists of the year

photo: Facebook

Six male country artists should be rather pleased with being named 2017 CMT Artists of the Year. Find out who made the cut...

Country music hit-makers Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Chris Stapleton, and Keith Urban, all have something major to celebrate— being named 2017 CMT Artists of the Year!

The elite group will be recognized at the eighth annual CMT Artists of the Year special, airing live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center on October 18th at 8 p.m. ET.

This year’s special will also extend beyond music to honor the unwavering spirit of those impacted by Hurricane Harvey and champion the many volunteers contributing to the ongoing rescue and recovery efforts in Texas. Throughout the night, country music’s biggest stars will encourage fans to continue supporting the extensive rebuilding efforts over the next year. More information on the special’s charitable initiative will be announced at a later date.

“Working with our honorees and the entertainment community, we’ll take advantage of one of our biggest nights of the year to honor the resilience of those impacted by this disaster and applaud the fearless efforts of those on the front lines,” Frank Tanki, General Manager of CMT and TV Land, shared. “CMT is committed to providing our fans with the tools and resources needed to contribute to this massive recovery effort as well as connecting those affected to the support services they need.”

The night will toast each honoree with never-before-seen performances and hilarious and emotional moments during the 90-minute special. The five “Artists of the Year” collectively dominated the last 12 months in country music, ruling CMT’s platforms and country radio, scoring chart-topping albums and singles, and selling out arenas across the country. Additional awards, performers and special guests will be announced at a later date.

Aldean and Bryan extend their lead as the artists with the most wins with six each, while Bryan earns the distinction as the artist with the longest winning streak to date (2012-present). This marks both Aldean and Urban’s first returns to the list since 2014, while Stapleton and Florida Georgia Line notch their second and fifth consecutive wins, respectively.

Thanks @cmt for making me a #CMTAOTY for another year. Means a lot.

A post shared by Luke Bryan Official (@lukebryan) on

Former CMT Artists of the Year honorees include Kenny Chesney (2011, 2012), Eric Church (2012), Hunter Hayes (2013), Toby Keith (2012), Lady Antebellum (2010, 2011), Little Big Town (2015), Miranda Lambert (2012, 2014), Tim McGraw (2013), Brad Paisley (2011), Thomas Rhett (2016), Blake Shelton (2015), Taylor Swift (2010, 2011), Sam Hunt (2015), Carrie Underwood (2010, 2012, 2016), Thomas Rhett (2016), and Zac Brown Band (2010).

Congrats to Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Chris Stapleton, and Keith Urban, on receiving this honor! Share this update with other fans of these top artists.

View Comments (0)