2017 CMA Awards: ‘Single of the Year’ Announced

2017 cma awards single of the year

photo: Facebook

In a showdown between singles by Little Big Town, Keith Urban, Sam Hunt, Jon Pardi, and Miranda Lambert--- find out which track garnered the most votes!

The ‘Single of the Year’ nominees were “Better Man” (Little Big Town), “Blue Ain’t Your Color” (Keith Urban), “Body Like A Back Road” (Sam Hunt), “Dirt On My Boots” (Jon Pardi), and “Tin Man” (Miranda Lambert). In the end, Keith Urban’s “Blue Ain’t Your Color” was named the ‘Single of the Year’ at the 2017 CMA Awards.

Past ‘Single of the Year’ Winners

1967 “There Goes My Everything;” Jack Greene; Decca Records
1968 “Harper Valley P.T.A.;” Jeannie C. Riley; Plantation Records
1969 “A Boy Named Sue;” Johnny Cash; Columbia Records
1970 “Okie From Muskogee;” Merle Haggard; Capitol Nashville
1971 “Help Me Make It Through The Night;” Sammi Smith; Mega Records
1972 “The Happiest Girl In The Whole U.S.A.;” Donna Fargo; Dot Records
1973 “Behind Closed Doors;” Charlie Rich; Epic Records
1974 “Country Bumpkin;” Cal Smith; MCA Nashville
1975 “Before The Next Teardrop Falls;” Freddy Fender; ABC Dot Records
1976 “Good Hearted Woman;” Waylon Jennings and Willie Nelson; RCA Records
1977 “Lucille;” Kenny Rogers; United Artists Records
1978 “Heaven’s Just A Sin Away;” The Kendalls; Ovation Records
1979 “The Devil Went Down to Georgia;” Charlie Daniels Band; Epic Records
1980 “He Stopped Loving Her Today;” George Jones; Epic Records
1981 “Elvira;” Oak Ridge Boys; MCA Nashville
1982 “Always On My Mind;” Willie Nelson; Columbia Records
1983 “Swingin;’” John Anderson; Warner Bros. Records
1984 “A Little Good News;” Anne Murray; Capitol Nashville
1985 “Why Not Me;” The Judds; RCA Records/Curb Records
1986 “Bop;” Dan Seals; EMI America Records
1987 “Forever And Ever, Amen;” Randy Travis; Warner Bros. Records
1988 “Eighteen Wheels And A Dozen Roses;” Kathy Mattea; PolyGram Records
1989 “I’m No Stranger To The Rain;” Keith Whitley; RCA Records; produced by Garth Fundis and Keith Whitley
1990 “When I Call Your Name;” Vince Gill; MCA Nashville; produced by Tony Brown
1991 “Friends In Low Places;” Garth Brooks; Capitol Nashville; produced by Allen Reynolds
1992 “Achy Breaky Heart;” Billy Ray Cyrus; Mercury Nashville; produced by John Cotton and Joe Scaife
1993 “Chattahoochee;” Alan Jackson; Arista Nashville; produced by Keith Stegall
1994 “I Swear;” John Michael Montgomery; Atlantic Records; produced by Scott Hendricks
1995 “When You Say Nothing At All;” Alison Krauss & Union Station; BNA Records; produced by Randy Scruggs
1996 “Check Yes Or No;” George Strait; MCA Nashville; produced by Tony Brown and George Strait
1997 “Strawberry Wine;” Deana Carter; Capitol Nashville; produced by Chris Farren
1998 “Holes In The Floor Of Heaven;” Steve Wariner; Capitol Nashville; produced by Steve Wariner
1999 “Wide Open Spaces;” Dixie Chicks; Monument Records; produced by Blake Chancey and Paul Worley
2000 “I Hope You Dance;” Lee Ann Womack (with special guest appearance by Sons of the Desert); MCA Nashville; produced by Mark Wright
2001 “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow;” The Soggy Bottom Boys; Lost Highway Records; produced by T Bone Burnett
2002 “Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning);” Alan Jackson; Arista Nashville; produced by Keith Stegall
2003 “Hurt;” Johnny Cash; Lost Highway Records; produced by Rick Rubin (most years between wins – Johnny Cash 34)
2004 “Live Like You Were Dying;” Tim McGraw; Curb Records; produced by Byron Gallimore, Tim McGraw and Darran Smith
2005 “I May Hate Myself In The Morning;” Lee Ann Womack; MCA Nashville; produced by Byron Gallimore
2006 “Believe;” Brooks & Dunn; Arista Nashville; produced by Tony Brown, Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn
2007 “Before He Cheats;” Carrie Underwood; 19 Recordings Limited/Arista Nashville; produced by Mark Bright
2008 “I Saw God Today;” George Strait; MCA Nashville; produced by Tony Brown and George Strait
2009 “I Run To You;” Lady Antebellum; Capitol Records Nashville; produced by Victoria Shaw and Paul Worley
2010 “Need You Now;” Lady Antebellum; Capitol Records Nashville; produced by Paul Worley and Lady Antebellum (only back-to-back winner – Lady Antebellum)
2011 “If I Die Young;” The Band Perry; Republic Nashville; Produced by Paul Worley
2012 “Pontoon;” Little Big Town; Capitol Records Nashville; Produced by Jay Joyce
2013 “Cruise;” Florida Georgia Line; Republic Nashville; Produced by Joey Moi
2014 “Automatic;” Miranda Lambert; RCA Nashville; Produced by Frank Liddell, Chuck Ainlay, and Glenn Worf
2015 “Girl Crush;” Little Big Town; Capitol Records Nashville; Produced by Jay Joyce
2016 “Die A Happy Man;” Thomas Rhett; The Valory Music Co.; Produced by Dann Huff, Jesse Frasure; Mix Engineer Justin Niebank

Share this news with other country music fans!

View Comments (0)