2017 CMA Awards: ‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ Revealed

2017 CMA Awards: Female Vocalist of the Year

photo: Facebook

Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Reba McEntire, Maren Morris, and Carrie Underwood are all deserving of the 'Female Vocalist of the Year' distinction. Find out who won...

Country music mavens Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Reba McEntire, Maren Morris, and Carrie Underwood were all in the running for ‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ at this year’s CMA Awards. So which leading country music queen can add this dazzling honor to her crown?

The 2017 CMA Awards ‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ is…. Miranda Lambert! 

Congrats to this stellar female entertainer! McEntire is no stranger to this category, winning four straight years in the 1980’s. Lambert took home the prize five consecutive times, spanning from 2010 to 2015. Underwood first won ‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ in 2006, and she has won a total of four times out of 11 previous nominations, most recently in 2016— breaking Lambert’s streak.

In case you were curious about the history of the award, which was first given away in 1967, here’s a rundown of past winners!

‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ Winners By Year 

1967 Loretta Lynn
1968 Tammy Wynette
1969 Tammy Wynette
1970 Tammy Wynette
1971 Lynn Anderson
1972 Loretta Lynn
1973 Loretta Lynn
1974 Olivia Newton-John
1975 Dolly Parton
1976 Dolly Parton
1977 Crystal Gayle
1978 Crystal Gayle
1979 Barbara Mandrell
1980 Emmylou Harris
1981 Barbara Mandrell
1982 Janie Fricke
1983 Janie Fricke
1984 Reba McEntire
1985 Reba McEntire
1986 Reba McEntire
1987 Reba McEntire
1988 K.T. Oslin
1989 Kathy Mattea
1990 Kathy Mattea
1991 Tanya Tucker
1992 Mary Chapin Carpenter
1993 Mary Chapin Carpenter
1994 Pam Tillis
1995 Alison Krauss
1996 Patty Loveless
1997 Trisha Yearwood
1998 Trisha Yearwood
1999 Martina McBride
2000 Faith Hill
2001 Lee Ann Womack
2002 Martina McBride
2003 Martina McBride
2004 Martina McBride
2005 Gretchen Wilson
2006 Carrie Underwood
2007 Carrie Underwood
2008 Carrie Underwood
2009 Taylor Swift
2010 Miranda Lambert
2011 Miranda Lambert
2012 Miranda Lambert
2013 Miranda Lambert
2014 Miranda Lambert
2015 Miranda Lambert
2016 Carrie Underwood

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by the more than 6,300 industry professional members of CMA, which when established in 1958 became the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music. The first CMA Awards Banquet and Show was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast on NBC television for the first time – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network television. Albums and songs released between July 1 of the previous calendar year and June 30 of the award show’s year are eligible for consideration.

Be sure to share this update with other country music fans!

View Comments (0)